Brand Library

By: Quan

Dec 06 2010

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Black & White

8 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Monday, December 06, 2010.

When I have some free time, I like to walk around in Brand Park.  Sometimes, I like to take pictures of the unique architecture of Brand Library; other times, I like to go inside to browse its large collection of musics and art books.  The library is located in Brand Park with a garden, picnic area, and a baseball field.  I always had the impression of the park as a relaxed, friendly, and family-oriented place.  ‘Til one day…

As I was happily walking, taking photographs of the building outside the library; a stranger approached and warned me not to take anymore pictures.  He told me a story about his friend being fined for several hundreds of dollars while taking pictures here.  At first, I thought that this guy was probably pulling a joke on me.  But, he looked very sincere and serious.  To be on the safe side, I thanked him, put my camera away, and went home.

I was still curious about the whole situation.  So, I drove around and re-entered the park.  Sure enough, there’s a small sign, by the front gate,  saying that a permit is required to take photographs in the park.  Since when did they put that sign up?  I didn’t ever remember seeing it there.  Hmmm…

Back home, I still couldn’t get that out of my mind.  So, I googled and found out that the photography permit cost $30 for half-hour in the park and $235 for two hours in the garden.  That’s a lot of money for two hours.  Now, it clicked.  It’s all about money, isn’t it.  So, to my photographer friends, “BEWARE OF THE GREEDY HANDS!”

Life is so full of paradoxes.  That day, I encountered a stranger, yet friendly; in a friendly place, yet very photographer-unfriendly.  From now on, I may go to Brand library to read, but never again with a camera.  This will be my last picture of this place.  So, thanks to that gentleman (I don’t even know his name); and goodbye to Brand library.

-Q.



8 comments on “Brand Library”

  1. Don’t know where Brand Library is but it’s a moot point after reading your story. My inquisitivenes has been thoroughly snuffle, I don’t go where my cameras are not allow, peroid! 🙂

  2. Another beautiful B&W photo with an interesting story. (I really like this photo.) 🙂

  3. The photography fee is outrageous! I’ll remember not to go there in the future.

  4. You probably want to check with the library before giving up. Many attractive places have similar policy statements, which are only applied to people doing commercial, wedding, portrait, model photography on the grounds. As long as you’re simply shooting the building, not bringing in brides or models and lights and tripods and such, you may well be fine.

    One very attractive site here was forced to institute that policy when word got out and it was impossible to visit the park except on rainy days because there was no available parking, and the noise of the generators powering the light setups was chasing the local wildlife (a big part of the attraction) into hiding.


Leave a comment